April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

MBOU

Recovering LFS Worker
Global Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
Hey people :)

I just thought I would post this (these?) question/s as for once I have temporarily been shut up and actually can't weigh up pros and cons in my own mind and actually come to any particular opinion....

I am doing my degree in Psychology with the Open University, tragically... this does mean I am having to do a Social Sciences module... (utterly boring to a point where a lot of people have just quit doing the degree to avoid 9 months of this module!!).

However this section has caught my attention and is at least reasonably interesting! So would like your thoughts!

Main Question (reworded to make it easier to post):

Do you regularly shop at one of the four leading supermarkets (Tescos, Sainsburys, Asda & Morrisons) and what choice do you feel you have about where you shop?

But within your answers, I am also interested in your opinion on the effects of supermarkets, both pros and cons because there are definately both. To include the effect on other retailers and independants, the local environment, jobs etc.

My automatic thought, personally, is that Supermarkets are bad, they have good points... but are generally bad....

I have seen what they have done to the farmers who are practically having to giveaway everything they work for because the supermarkets want to make more and more profits, the buildings are monstrously huge eyesores often in outlying towns and outskirts and previously peaceful areas, they have such huge market power and can force such huge discounts that they can drop their prices until no retailers can compete... by providing such a huge selection of foods... they have encouraged serious laziness and poor eating by providing people with awful unhealthy foods in huge quantities...