Pregnant Dalmation Molly

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Althamon

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I know I definitely have one pregnant molly and she has been fairly square since I got her on 25th feb, and no chance of looking for a gravid spot as I would only assume it was part of her markings:

molly pregnant 1.jpg
Taken 2nd March

molly pregnant 2.JPG
Taken 7th March

Is that the birthing tube appearing on the 2nd pic (little lump underneath fin)?

Any ideas on how much longer I may have to wait for her to have the fry?

Molly 2 was impregnated on multiple occasions on 2nd March so expecting that in about 5 weeks I am guessing.

I'm no expert but if mollys are anything like guppies it should be any time now. Especally since the tube is showing. Keep a very close eye on her!
(going based off of what I just learned today dont get mad if I'm wrong :) please )

Don't worry I won't hold it against you but just needed a second opinion as I thought she looked ready to burst, she is still feeding though so it may not be today so it gives me a little more time to find a breeding pen of some form.

I'm in the exact same situation with my guppy. If she gets any bigger she will pop! But still no babies. But at the moment I'm thankful for that because I still need to get plants for the fry :) I'm going to try without a breeding trap. I dont like moving my fish to much they act weird every time I do.

But your females tube is showing a lot more than my guppy.. so I'm sure she is going to burst really soon.

I thought about trying to see how natures course would go in terms of allowing them to fend for themselves then remembered my filter has large openings and if I didn't get a trap then they would be "nemo'd" due to being sucked up the pipe + I am curious to see how many she drops and not having minced frys to clean up