Pond Ideas...

June FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Mozely

Reaction score
OK, the pond must be built, but money is a factor so initially I am not bothered what it loos like or where it goes exactly either. I have never built a pond before and money is tight so I need to know where the best place to look for materials, filters etc,... is. Appearence wise I can fiddle with once the pond is there. Even just sticking a few pots round it will do. I am thinking a raised pond in my back garden is going to be the best option as the back garden is oin the process of renovation anyway. All help will be much apreciated. I imagine this is going to be a slow process and I am hoping to house my fish in the pond in Spring time.

So I need pointers regarding;

Size for 9 fish, in dimensions rather than volume, I'd like it to be deeper rather than wide. Should limit algae growth a little and my garden is not huge, so I need to be able to move round it :)

Filtration, what should I be looking for and where

Materials, what will be the best thing to build it with that won't cost the earth?

Size: Possibly 10ft long x 8ft wide x 4ft 6in deep, that would be a good size, seen as you have quite a few goldies :)

Filter: Not too sure for a pond that big

Material: Pre-shaped wont have that size so buy a large pond Liner :)

I have a small pond, only have 3 goldies, they are like 5 years old. So with a big sized pond obviously you need a big filter. I have a solar powered filter, from China (Ebay). Works well :)

Hope that helps :)