Noob here. What fish can I have?

Shubbub

Reaction score
Hi all :)
I'm new here.

So I am planning on rehoming my goldfish (2 shubunkins) I know it sounds bad! But when I bought them I was in college and new nothing about fish. I've since then (I've had them 5 years) realised that they have outgrown their tank and that they really need a pond. I don't have a garden so it's impossible for me to give that to them right now.

I am giving them to a man who has a large pond and is looking for fish to stock it with. I think they will be much better off there and will continue to grow. He said I can have them back when I have my own pond which I plan to have when I get my own place, I am currently renting.
Please don't judge me too harshly I am trying to do what's best for the fish.

But that still leaves me with my 200L fish tank and the love of fish!

I am thinking of starting fresh, maybe with some tropical fish this time. This time I want to make sure the tank is suitable for the fish I get. What kind of fish would be happy in a 200L tank?

Hi! Welcome to the forum!
I too started out with 2 goldfish in a tank smaller than yours. You did the right thing giving them away though. They really do get big and require a pond.
Could you give your water parameters please?
Ex. - ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph, gh (hardness)
Here are a few questions to help determine what kind of fish your wanting:

Water parameters? Some fish like softer water and some fish like harder water. 200l is a pretty big aquarium, and is a good size for a beginner. Make sure you cycle your tank, to ensure it’s safe for the intended fish.

Do you prefer fish that are colorful or have more personality? There are definitely fish that have both, but it’s easier to find one or the other.

Do you want more of a species only, a community, or one bigger fish?

With 200l (around 53 gallons) there are lots of options.

Hope this helps!

Hi! Welcome to the forum!