Pleco rash?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Jayboi117

Reaction score
Hello ,

I am fairly new to fish keeping and if you have seen my other thread i did not get off to a good start. This time it is a question about my 75ltr tank and my 2 plecos that currently live in it.

I have just managed to rescue my tank from NTS and i am worried about one f my plecos.

He has what looks like a faded patch on his side ,i put this down to stress becuase i had such high ammonia levels.

Since i have balenced out the wster levels the rash seems to be getting worse and it is vegining to make his skin look dry and scaley(that sounds silly i know).

I'm not sure wether the ammonia has burnt him. He also spends a lot kf time next to the heater so could this be a heater burn(i really need a cage). My other pleco seems fine and both are eating and pooing normally.He is also look very fat,am i over feeding him? I give them one algae wafer a night that i split it half and drop in.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. :)
Thank you

Attachments

• 20170117_123005.jpg
    20170117_123005.jpg
    528.7 KB · Views: 585
  • 20170117_123140.jpg
    20170117_123140.jpg
    513.6 KB · Views: 638
It does look very much like a heater burn. from what I can see, and the fish does look very bloated; whether that's from some sickness or overfeeding it's hard to tell.

I would not feed the fish for a couple of days, keep an eye on water quality and see if it improves.

On a side note, I can tell you that that's a gibbiceps, which can grow to around two feet long, so you will have to look at rehoming it, once you're sure it's healthy.

Ok ,thank you for your reply.