Please Help With Clown Fish

OscarCichlid

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I have an empty 10 gallon tank. I would like to keep One clown fish. Coral/Anemone (anything for the clown to live in) and sand. It has an AquaClear 200 but only standard 20 watt lighting. I know i need a new light but im not sure about the filter. If anyone could recomend what i should get for this tank i would apreciate it. I am not a complete newbie to salt water but i am fairly new.

10 gallons is a very small tank. If you really want to get clownfish, you may want to consider getting something a bit bigger. You would want to get an anemone for a clownfish, but they are harder to take care of and they require much better water conditions than clownfish.

As for the filter, it really depends on the tank and your budget. Have you read any books on saltwater fishkeeping?

Oscar, An affair with saltwater should not be started with a 10gal tank.

Get yourself at least a 20, and skilter makes an adequate filter for what you are interested in doing. A couple of power compacts for lighjting, and you should do ok.

one question and be honest.. are u gettin a single clown because one of ur kids wants a "nemo" fish??!

Contrary to popular belief, clowns do not require coral or anemones to reside in. They do perfectly well without them. :)

Tank raised clowns a lot of times don't even recognize coral or anemones as homes and must be trained to house themselves in them.

A large shell (like a melon shell) with a good sized opening makes a comfortable clown house.

We've got a terracotta half jug in our marine tank for our two clowns. They love it, they moved in the day after we put it in there and are always hovering in the 'doorway'. One day we would like an anenome but its probably years away at the moment, when we are a bit more confident about keeping one alive.

Also I thought it may interest you to know that the yellow tang absolutely loves the jug too!! Weird :fun:

Sharon

mike1020 said: