Please help! Dosing General Cure for Suspected Hexamita (to protect living fish)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Mola

Reaction score
Hi All, thanks in advance for the help. I am relatively new to fish keeping (~6 months) and new to this forum (first time registering/posting today).

I have a 20 gallon heavily planted tank:
  • 5 Neon Tetras
  • 7 Pristella Tetras
  • 1 Mollie
  • 2 Platy
Some context:
  • Until recently I also had 2 Bolivian Rams and 1 additional Neon Tetra (which came as a group with the other 5 neons).
  • About 2 months ago I noticed that 1 Neon had white bumps/lesions (not ich) and a curved spine -- it was isolating, not doing well, and it died that night. No other fish showed any symptoms of anything.
  • Two days later I found 1 of the 2 Bolivia Rams dead. It did not appear to have any issues before that.
My water params are always awesome... 0, 0, <5, PH around 7.4 - 7.6, not sure about GH and KH (but generally fine when I've tested).

Fast forward to about 2 weeks ago:

• Noticed the remaining Bolivian Ram with white stringy poop once. Otherwise, it seemed fine, was eating, no problem swimming, etc.
  • Then last week, the Ram developed some white spots on it's head above both eyes. Still eating and seemed fine except for the spots.
  • I dosed the take with Paraguard for several days and the spots nearly completed disappeared. All was good.
  • Then this past Saturday morning the Ram went into hiding. Later that morning we found it on the bottom of the tank on it's side -- still alive but very close to then end, so we euthanized with clove oil.
Based on the symptoms and fairly extensive reading, I'm thinking it's Hexamita (parasite/protozoa). I have a box of API General Cure that I bought in October after the two fish died.

My questions / where I need help:
  • The remaining fish are asymptomatic. They all seem completely fine.