Platies Laying On Bottom Of The Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Emily6235

Reaction score
I bought three platies from lfs. They were purchased and brought home the day of the shipment to the lfd so started out stressed and I lost the male within hours, leaving two females. It has been a few days and they continue to hide in the rear of tank only coming out occasionally for food.

Tank: 20 gallons
1 juvenile betta tankmate (never seen him approach or appear to even notice platies)
ammonia 0
Nitrates 10 ppm
Nitrites 0
GH 150 ppm
Chlorine 0
KH 120 ppm
PH 7.2

Tank is planted and platies dont appear gravid. Also fins arent clamped if that means anything.

Oh, temperature is 78F

Also, the fish look healthy. No spots, discoloration, and or fin damage and they're pretty vibrant.

When my platies were alive, they use to hide at the back of the tank and lay on the gravel. I read they are rather shy fish so will hide. I'm no expert (as you can tell all my platies have died in the last few day - it seems I'm a fish murderer
cry1.gif
) maybe they are just finding their fins in a new tank and getting over the stress of the move?

never put a betta with any kind of fish, they are probably scared to death! also your nitrates are a little tiny bit high. send a picture of the platies, it might be another reason.

were the fish accimilatised to the water of your tank....small quantities of water added to the bag slowly over time?? (this may explain the quick initial death). I wouldnt worry too much about the remaining two being shy for a few days, the will come around.

IMO dont worry about a nitrate readying of 10ppm, the majority of tanks will have a reading of much higher than this. i intentionally add nitrate to 'feed' my plants and constantly have a reading of greater than this with no problems to my rainbows