Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Plant Substrate

Discussion in 'Lighting, CO2, Ferts & Flow' started by DaveW, Nov 27, 2005.

?

What plant substrate would/do you use?

  1. TetraPlant Complete

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Caribsea Eco Complete

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Seachem Flourite

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. API Pure Laterite

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. JBL AquaBasis

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Aquaclay Ground

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Azoo Plant Grower Bed

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Red Sea Flora Base

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. DaveW

    DaveW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    The more I look at upgrading my tank for plants, the more choices there is to make. But as you can see by the poll asking what people use or would use if they where setting up a new tank, is probably the best way to help me choice.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DaveW

    DaveW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    PS: Please tell me if there are any that I've miss!
     
  3. smithrc

    smithrc My names Russell.... ....and I'm a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milton Keynes - UK
    In the first planted tank we used API Laterite, mixed with sand, then a gravel layer.

    now I just use playsand and root tabs... (again API)
    I'm ding better with this mix (even with less light)
     
  4. Bloo

    Bloo ~ I learn something new ~ ~~~~ every day ~~~~

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    9,085
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    None of the above I'm afraid. I used "API First Layer Laterite" topped with "Dennerle Black Quartz".
     
  5. Dubby

    Dubby His legend will never die

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    None of the above. I use Clay, Vermiculite and a topping of sand.
     
  6. Jen

    Jen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
    I use Laterite with sand on the top.
     
  7. funkybodal

    funkybodal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Tanganyika, Africa.
    I use sand and laterite which seems to work pretty well. The Eco-complete stuff sounds very nifty but too expensive in my opinion.
     
  8. modernhamlet

    modernhamlet Just this guy...

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roslindale, Massachusetts, USA
    I got 4 bags of EcoComplete on sale for like $10 apiece. Shipping was a bit, but considering the weight, not too bad. The stuff looks great and is very easy to plant in. My only complaint is that it raises KH and GH initially.

    Recommended if you've got the money. Otherwise, laterite seems to be the best cheap option.
     
  9. jimbooo

    jimbooo James flexton

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stotfold, Bedfordshire, UK
    api first layer laterite + 2/3mm gravel in all tanks
     
  10. DaveW

    DaveW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Thanks guys & girls.

    I think it will come down to how much money I have!

    I did like the looks of the Seachem Flourite, but I would need 3 to 4 bags @ £20 a bag. That's to expensive :X .

    Then there is the Eco Complete which will be about £45, but no other substrate. I like the idea of not having layer of substrate, but still fairly expensive.

    But as money is probably going to be the main factor, especially after buying £50 of lighting upgrade and £155 of JBL Proflora CO2 set 2. My choice, as the popular substrate, Api laterite. I think I'll top it with a fine gravel, but I still like the sand which I have at the moment. Choices :crazy:
     
  11. donkey

    donkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
  12. paulioo

    paulioo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    I've got a mixture of Eco-complete and black Oynx Sand. Pretty expensive but looks good and does wonders for the plants.

    paul.
     
  13. DaveW

    DaveW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
  14. donkey

    donkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    a Gravel Tidy dose have very small holes in it so i would think that the roots would work there way through it over time . im not to sure that the roots need to be touching the Eco-complete for it to work .i think as long as the Eco-complete is under the roots this should work fine
     
  15. DaveW

    DaveW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I like the idea, but if the roots go through it might be a bit hard to rearrange the tank. As I probably will be moving the plants around for a while it might not be the best thing for me.
     

Share This Page