Plant Lighting Question

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Asmodaues

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Im new to planted tanks and want to make sure i have the correct lighting.

Tank is a 20gallon, play sand base. 2 primrose, 1 anacharis, and 1 aquatic combo from petco. Currently my flourescant light is a 8,000k full spectrum daylight.

Will this be enough and how long does it need to be on a day? I have a timer programmable surge strip if needed to set a timer. I work 730am to 530pm.

I can't help with the technical side of things - wattage etc as I don't understand it myself but I can tell you that I have two T8 tubes in my tank, one is a 'daylight' tube and the other is for 'plants'. I have set my timer to switch the lights on for just under 2 hours in a morning and 6 hours on an evening. I read something years ago that said staggering the lighting period in this way can help control algae. Keeping the lighting period at no more than 8 hours will also help keep algae at bay whilst providing enough lighting for the plants.

Can I also suggest that you add a good quality fertilizer and a simple liquid Co2 ... if you do this you should have healthy plants with optimum growth :)

Is the fluorescent tube a T8, or T5?  This makes a big difference in light intensity.  As for the spectrum, I would suggest one closer to 5000K to 7000K which will provide more red (red and blue are essential for photosynthesis) and also some green which helps too.  The best tubes for this are the aquarium type, like the Hagen and ZooMed brands.  I can go into specifics more when I know the type.

As for the duration, I tend to let the algae govern this.  If algae begins to increase, the light is usually too much (can be intensity and/or duration).  I would start with around 8 hours.  One of my tanks gets 7 because the light is a tad brighter due to the water depth being shallower, thus more light reaches the bottom.