Pearl Gourami in poor health.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

GunnyK

Reaction score
Hello members. This is my first time on this website. I am at my wits end. I have had Opeline Gouramis in this tank for over 10 years with no issues. They finely passed into Gourami heaven after the 10 years. I wanted to replace them with Pearl Gouramis because they are not as aggressive and I was actually able to find some locally. I have had a pair of the Pearls for about a year and with no issues. But about two months ago my female got sick with what I now think was fin rot and died after about two weeks. Now jus in the last week the male is showing the same symptoms. I checked my water quality and it is spot on. The other three fish in the tank are not being aggressive towards it so I don't think that the fins are being nipped at.
As mentioned, I think it might be "fin rot" I just started to add some pond salt to the water to see if this will help. I am adding it slowly until I will reach a concentration of about 2TBSp/10gal. Should this be a good concentration and should it help? Thanks for any advice. I don't want to replace the female until I solve this problem. I don't overfeed and add distilled or pre-boiled rain water to the tank only. NEVER tap water. Thanks in advance in advance.

Welcome to TFF

When you say your water quality is "spot on", what do you mean? What kind of test kit do you use?

What is the hardness of the water in the tank (gh)? Why not tap water?