Our Journey To The Salty Side - Part One

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

seffieuk

I used to be indecisive but now I'm not so sure!
Reaction score
Hi

Well have taken the plunge after about a year of reading about Marine nano fish keeping. have just bought an orca 550, arrives in about a weeks time. I plan to take things slowly not least because of the huge expense. Could someone give me a shopping list of their recomendations please. I have kept tropical/brackish for a few years now but am a complete newbie with marine.

Test kit - which one
rock - which would be the best
live sand - again which one
salt - any preference
hydrometer -

etc, etc

thanks in advance

Seffie

Test kit - Salifert ones are well respected
rock - try to get cured live rock,pick the type you like the look of
live sand - don't bother to get live, I don't think its very live when you get it, just get coral sand it will become live soon enough
salt - I personally use aquamedic reef salt but have heard good things about Seachems.
hydrometer - Don't get one get a refractometer instead they are much more accurate(ebay always has them cheap)

Marine tanks are great,you'll love it :good:

i agree pretty much with the above.

live sand is a gimmick. just get coral sand and the rock will seed it soon enough.

Also budget for powerheads. I have a koralia 1 and a koralia nano. They are both very quiet.

What corals were you hoping to keep in the orca as the spec i've seen only lists the lighting at 2 x 24 watts.

Hi

You are right about the lighting - I had assumed, maybe foolishly :blush: that i would be able to keep a few of the hardy species, but to be honest will be guided by you guys. I have read loads but reading is no match for experience. I hope not to make too many mistakes if you will all give me a hand. I assume that I could upgrade the lighting without too much difficulty?