On A Lfs Mission

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

5teady_2012

Here to help
Reaction score
im going to spend the day and next couple of days going to all the local fish stores, or telephone them in my area code.
Im going to tell them im new to the hobby and i have a new tank and see what info they give me and see how many actual mention cycling etc..

I will keep this thread updated as i visit the stores..

obviously i will have to rule out my 2 main ones i go ot..

Time to name and shame all the stupid ass fish stores that mislead and give out bad info once and for all.

Everyone that that gives me bad advice, i will be taken action on as well.

Good one 5teady, about time they were told, i always tell mine but he don't believe a wor di say cause of my age :angry: they tried to sell me female bettas cause they would make my male happier :crazy:

what're you going to do? judge the worth of an entire lfs based on an isolated experience with one of their many employees? i think that if you're going to go through with this gargantuan task, you'll have to at least talk to a few employees at each lfs to get a good idea about how experienced and trained its workers really are.

4 Pets, Outlet Garden Centre, 324 Hull Road Woodmansy HU17 ORU

PHONED..

Told i was new to the hobby...

asked: Could you please help me as ive just setup a new tank and was wondering when can i add fish.

Told: How long as it been setup

answer: 2 days.

told: well, you would be best to wait until the weekend, pop in and get some danios, about 5, leave them in the tank for about 1 week, then you can start adding more other fish that you would like.

asked: why is that, what will they do?

told: they will help your filter to mature, your tank will have to be cycled and the danios will help this happen as iff thier waste, the cycle can start.

asked: i see, so i guess that is what people refer to as a fishless cycle?

told: yes