Nitrites not showing up

Anthony1976

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
103
Reaction score
47
Location
Adelaide
Hey all, I’m two weeks into a cycle on a thirty gallon aquarium which I plan to use to spawn my Cory’s in . I heavily seeded the filter from the start with media from my other tanks and have been using a shrimp head and fish food as my ammonia source. The problem I’ve got is I’ve only had ammonia show up on the api test kit no nitrites and when I reduce the ammonia into the tank it’s going back down to zero the day after with no nitrite showing up. My nitrates are around 10ppm . My question is when using seeded media is it possible to not see the nitrites and be cycled because enough nitrifying bacteria were added in the first place??
 

Chris1212

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
63
Reaction score
22
Location
USA
My situation is slightly different - I used tetra safe start plus for my tank for a fish-in cycle. I have constant .25-.5 ammonia and always 0 nitrites. I've been told that it is possible I won't see nitrites really go up because I used that starter bacteria. Maybe it is the same for your seeded media?
 

seangee

Fish Aficionado
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
4,116
Reaction score
3,207
Location
Berks
My nitrates are around 10ppm . My question is when using seeded media is it possible to not see the nitrites and be cycled because enough nitrifying bacteria were added in the first place??
Yes. Sounds like you are good to go.
 
OP
A

Anthony1976

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
103
Reaction score
47
Location
Adelaide
Yes. Sounds like you are good to go.
Thankyou, I thought I may be cycled but wanted to ask more experienced people what they think as I’ve always seen nitrites but I guess that ammonia is going into nitrates isn’t it.
 
OP
A

Anthony1976

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
103
Reaction score
47
Location
Adelaide
My situation is slightly different - I used tetra safe start plus for my tank for a fish-in cycle. I have constant .25-.5 ammonia and always 0 nitrites. I've been told that it is possible I won't see nitrites really go up because I used that starter bacteria. Maybe it is the same for your seeded media?
Yeah could well be mate, you may want to use a bit of prime to protect your stock if you aren’t already
 

mbsqw1d

Fish Gatherer
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
2,179
Reaction score
2,116
Location
UK
My situation is slightly different - I used tetra safe start plus for my tank for a fish-in cycle. I have constant .25-.5 ammonia and always 0 nitrites. I've been told that it is possible I won't see nitrites really go up because I used that starter bacteria. Maybe it is the same for your seeded media?
Depends if you are measuring any nitrate? Ammonia should be going down and nitrate going up if you have 0 nitrite.
 

trending

Most reactions - Past 7 days

Top