Newbie Seeking Advice

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Ri-Za

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Heya :)

I have recently decided that i want to get some fish as i have always wanted them however i am a bit of a newbie at looking after fish. I have done a fair bit of research on it, including looking through things on this site but i wanted some advice from people if people don't mind.
I want to get a biorb 30 as it looks nice despite what some people seem to think about it. Does anyone have any personal experiences with this tank and would anyone recommend it? I also wanted to convert it to a tropical tank as you can have more tropical fish in the tank which i would prefer. Has anyone converted this tank into a tropical tank? how easy it it and i was wondering if it changes the appearance of the tank at all as i dont really want a tank that has got loads of wires etc sticking out of it.
I have also done some research on what types of fish i should get as a beginner and from what i have found these types of fish seem to be maybe the best...
Dwarf gourami, tetras, ottiocinclus, hatchet fish, platys, guppies, mollys, swordtails and danios, does anyone have these and which ones seem to be able to get along with each other? also i saw some at a pet store which i thought were quiet nice called rainbow shark and albino rainbow shark, has anyone got any opinions or advice on these?
Sorry this is so long but since i am spending a fair bit on it all i wouldnt mind getting some advice before i commit myself to buying anything...thanks for any advice :)

Hi Ri-za, welcome to the forum.

Firstly the biorb, although rather stylish looking, these tanks really are quite impractible and considerably limit stocking.