New tropical fish tank aquarium- Aqua One Oakstyle 230L

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Daisyfish

Reaction score
Good morning,

I am brand new to keeping tropical fish and am just setting up my tank. I have bought the Aqua One Oakstyle 230L which comes with a Aqua One Ocellaris 850 filter and Aqua One 300W heater and LED light.
I am hoping to have a planted aquarium but with plants where I don’t need extra CO2.

I am hoping to have some advice on positioning the filter and heater for best efficiency and to hide as much as possible unsightly cables and tubes.

thank you

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 380
Hi.

Congrats on your new tank! :)
Do you know how you will be stocking it? :fish:

I think you have set up the heater right, you position it diagonally, but if I were you I would set it up just a little bit more vertical (just a little bit).
If I understand correctly, your filter is not an inside filter (one that's put inside the tank and works from there ) as it is quite large.
I see that you have a nice stand for the fish tank and if I were you I would set up the filter in one of the larger bottom drawers. I'm not exactly sure you it works but I have seen other people do this with this filter, and it looks really neat.

About the plants - it is good to give plants extra CO2 but not 100% necessary, they will still grow and live but won't thrive as much as they would with the extra CO2.

In my tank I have various plants, some of which are anubias, anarchis, java fern and Vallisneria. I do not add extra CO2, and they do just fine. Of course, adding CO2 is still a really good idea if you want the plants at their best.

Hope this helps.

Thank you!
This is my tank now... although my plants aren’t doing so well. I have a Tropica plant care substrate and aquarium sand on top.
Not sure how to help my plants. I have bought Seachem flourish but not sure if it’s too early to put that in?