New To Marine Setups

manxjason

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello,

I've kept freshwater fish for a couple years now, but I'm out of my comfort zone when it comes to saltwater.

I have an unused 450ltr Juwel Rio, fresh/salt water tank. Filtration wise I'll be using the internal Jumbo Bioflow (siliconed to glass) and a 2,000lph APS external with UV steraliser. I also have 2 heaters (one digi) and a digi PH reader & probe.

It looks like the 4x 54w standard bulbs will need to be replaced. Two of them are daylight, so would I be right in thinking that I'd need to only replace the 2 plant growth tubes?

I like the look of mixed coral (not just live rock, but actual coral) and fish tank rather than just one or the other.

I'm completely new to this so any help/advice and instructions would be appreciated.

thanks
Jason

For starters rip but the Juwel box filter (takes up room and doesn't do a very good job) and just use your external for chemical filtration. The Live Rock in the tank is your primary biological filtration so make sure you budget for enough.

From what you're saying you want to go full reef rather than fish only with live rock (FOWLR) so you're lighting is going to determine what you can keep coral-wise. If it's standard T5's you'll be fine with softies, mushrooms and some SPS corals.

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I'd rather keep the filter in for now as the tank is new in May 2012 so under warranty. It'd be my luck that it starts to leak before the warranty expires. I've read online that people have managed to remove it further down the line during a partial water change.

The lighting is the standard T5 lights. They are 54w each and there's 4 of them. Will I need to replace the plant growth lights with marine ones? If so, will I also need to remove the daylight ones too or are these the same as marine daylights?

Would love to grow some coral in my aquarium. I live on the Isle of Man so I'd have to purchase it from the Internet.