New To Killies

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Neomeris

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to killies. I'm looking for a kind of killie that can go in a 20 gallon tank with danios and non-aggressive gouramis, and possibly a BN pleco (bushy nose pleco) I'd like this killi to be non-agressive, colorful, small,easy to breed in the home aquarium, and hardy. I kind of like the common lyretail or the Bivitatum, but I'm open to suggestions.

Neomeris

Is anybody out there?

I'm new to killifish and I want to keep them successfully on the first try, and for that I will need help!

Neomeris

Been on holiday, sorry for the delay....
Fundulopanchax gardneri sp. would probably tick all the boxes you've mentioned above.
Regards
BigC

Thank you, I was starting to think nobody would answer! I decided against the BN, if that changes any decisions.
Do these killies bury their eggs? For me (a person with limited space and a desire to sell fish to good owners rather that overcrowd my tanks or 'cull' fish) the idea of fish eggs that hatch with the addition of water and can be mailed to buyers sounds like a good idea, as I do not like the idea of mailing hatched fish across the state

Neomeris

They are non annual plant spawners
you can collect the eggs daily
from mops made from 100% acrylic yarn tied to a cork
Regards
C

I saw this really awesome kind of Killifish at my LFS. It's called a 'Golden Australe'. I really like it. I rad up on it, and from what I read, you shouldn't keep two males together, but other than that it's non-aggressive. Would it work? The LFS doesn't have any Fundulopanchax gardneri that I have seen, but it does have over 200 tanks, so I could have missed it.

Hi Neomeris,