New to freshwater community tanks

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Pixburgh29

Reaction score
Hi all! I am a newbie when it comes to all things surrounding freshwater community tanks. I have several years of saltwater, reef, and various cichlid knowledge/experience but NONE when it comes to putting together a harmonious freshwater community tank. Seems a bit silly, I know - so I landed here in hopes to get educated! I am in the process of turning a former smaller saltwater reef tank into this desired freshwater community tank so the cleanup is going to take a while. I'm hoping that will give me plenty of time to research and learn some tips to avoid those pesky rookie mistakes if possible. I am very open to all suggestions so let them fly.

Tank - 90 Gallons
Requirements - Peaceful or low end semi-aggressive. Color! & perhaps a school or two? (this tank is in my twins' playroom).
Special notes - I would really LOVE to house some shrimp. Is it possible?? If not here, I can make a species only tank but it would be great to be able to incorporate them somehow in this build (I have a special place in my heart for bottom dwellers & cleaners!)

Thanks in advance for all tips/tricks/suggestions!

Welcome to the forum! You'll find more help here than you'll know what to do with. :lol:

If I were putting together a low-maintenance community tank, the first thing I'd want to know is water hardness. You can find this out from your water provider, or get a test kit. Some fish aren't picky, but lots of the best community fish have a definite preference for hard or soft water.