New Planted 55 Gallon

StingrayKid

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Okay, you might have heard a lot about my future 55 gallon tank, but I want to heavily plant the tank with tons of different plants and rocks. I'm probably going to use a fine substrate, allmost sand, but easier to clean and manage. Anyways, my LFS has a few very large swords and other plants in stock. I've seen some really cool tanks that have TONS of plants in them, and I kind of want to do that too. Could someone tell me how I should approach putting lots of plants in like that? I've also found that plants can really turn your water green, how do I prevent that? I'm really new with planted tanks so, I could use some help. Any other ideas or help is really needed. :unsure:

StingrayKid said:
Okay, you might have heard a lot about my future 55 gallon tank, but I want to heavily plant the tank with tons of different plants and rocks. I'm probably going to use a fine substrate, allmost sand, but easier to clean and manage. Anyways, my LFS has a few very large swords and other plants in stock. I've seen some really cool tanks that have TONS of plants in them, and I kind of want to do that too. Could someone tell me how I should approach putting lots of plants in like that? I've also found that plants can really turn your water green, how do I prevent that? I'm really new with planted tanks so, I could use some help. Any other ideas or help is really needed. :unsure:
Get a lot of plants. Plant them in your substrate.
:unsure:
I don't think I understand the question. sorry :X

Are you sure that it was plants that turned your water green? I have never had such a thing happen :dunno: