New here

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

jemscfc

Reaction score
Hi Iā€™ve never posted before.
I am a relative beginner, having a modest size tank with 6 platys mixed gender.
All fish are doing well, one has even given birth (I believe she was pregnant when I brought her home).
But today one of the fish is acting very odd swimming at the surface constantly.
Does anyone know why he/she is doing it? Sorry Iā€™m not sure if itā€™s gender. I can spot females when they are pregnant but struggle if they arenā€™t.

Attachments

• C4F7295E-EC0C-40FF-B31D-E8BF1E777736.jpeg
    C4F7295E-EC0C-40FF-B31D-E8BF1E777736.jpeg
    146.6 KB · Views: 48
:hi:

Could you fill this out please. Usually things like this are an overstocking/water quality/lack of oxygen problem. There's no judging here, we just need the details below.

Tank size:
pH:
ammonia:
nitrite:
nitrate:
kH:
gH:
tank temp:

Fish Symptoms (include full description including lesion, color, location, fish behavior):

Volume and Frequency of water changes:

Chemical Additives or Media in your tank:

Tank inhabitants:

Recent additions to your tank (living or decoration):

Exposure to chemicals:

Digital photo (include if possible):

The more information we have, the more likely we'll be able to help

Re the sex of the platies, look at the anal fin. That's the one on the underside of the fish right in front of the tail. With females and immature males, the fin is the usual triangular fan shape. In mature males, this fin has changed to a rod shape.

I found this internet pic useful to sex platy. Hard to know what's up without more info.

Attachments

• 892a9229d51fcab160687cad9f9e7990.jpg
    892a9229d51fcab160687cad9f9e7990.jpg
    6.9 KB · Views: 38
Hello and welcome to the forum :hi:

Itā€™s either water qualities problem or lack of Oxygen in the water
Can we have more information of the tank?

Tank size: 90l
pH: 7.2
ammonia: 0
nitrite: 0
nitrate: 60 (!)