New Betta!

Catx

Reaction score
Hi! I just got three lovely female betta, and I love them all very much. I am new to owning betta, but I have done a lot of research. I have three questions. My first question is how often do betta take in oxygen from the top of a tank? My betta do swim around the tank, but they go up to the top and breath in a bit of oxygen every minute or so. Like I said, they are swimming around the whole tank and are not just gulping all the oxygen they can get from the top. My second question is do bettas form relationships? Like I said, all my betta are female. My fish are Jesus, Judas, and Moses. Jesus I had a bit before the other two, but she was kept in a different tank, so they were all put in the new tank at the same. There was some chasing done by Jesus, but they are all fine now. Whenever I go upstairs to check on the fish, which is quite a lot because they are fun to watch, all my bettas are in a group together. Do all bettas do this? I know it seems like not a problem, but I just wanted to make sure that itā€™s normal. My third question is should I get some more fish for my tank? I have a ten gallon tank, and I love watching the fish. Iā€™m happy watching my three betta, but it would be nice to have more diversity. I have heard that Neon tetra can be kept with a betta in a five gallon tank, in groups because they are schooling fish, and itā€™s perfectly fine. This sounded a bit weird to me, because a 5 gal. is such a tiny tank. So would it be fine to put 5-6 Neon Tetra in the tank with my three betta? Thank you!