New 40-55 Gallon Inhabitants/tank Mates

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

beast1605

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello all and thanks for looking into my topic. 
I am relatively new to having my own aquariums but have grown up with them my whole life. I started young with large predatory fish and now at nearly 30 im looking into this new world of "Nano Fish" for freshwater. Thus far ive found Celestial Pearl Danios and have been captivated by their beauty, size, and behavior. For this reason i am setting up a 40-55 gallon aquarium with the CPDs as the main attraction and would love input on tank mates for them. So far ive found a few types of small cory cats and even the moth or stoner cat to be great candidates for bottom feeder tank mates. Im also looking into Danio Erythomicron as a smaller schooling group. My main concern is just a show fish like some sparkling gourami or liquorice gourami or possibly a ram. Again im looking for any input from anyone thats dealt with these small fish. My tank will be running 2 Aquaclear 30 powerfilters with Fluval edge pre filter sponges to help keep these little delicate fish from becoming filter food. My tank will also be heavily planted with java moss, dwarf water lettuce, planted hornswort, and some dwarf hair grass with the rest of my taller plants being artificial for simplicities sake. Again any input on the species or filtration is welcome but please try to be nice in your comments to myself and others heated debates are welcome but no opinion bashing please. Thanks again for reading! 

P.S. tank size will be confirmed once i get the tank measure and pics will be posted once i get the gravel in. I will be posting pics of my current aquariums and the complete build of my Nano Tank from gravel and aquascaping layout to planting and the completion with the full bioload of what i hope will be 40 or so fish all under 1.5 inches.