Need Some Advice On Community Fish (Colourful)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

uaeast

Reaction score
Hi all, I am just starting out with my tropical aquarium, but am doing research before rushing into it!

Have got a 150l tank, set up with a fluval external filter.

The fish I definately want are: a pleco and a shark, either albino or red finned black shark.

My question is what 'colourful' fish can I put with these that are going to be managable for a beginner and are going to be suitable long term.

I personally don't like the fan tailed fat type of fish. :D just bright and contrasting colours.

And what order do these fish go in the tank?

Thanks in advance from a newbie,
Joshua.

I dont think there is any order required for these fish your suggesting, but what about dwarf gouramis, angelfish, pearl/gold gouramis.

Hope that helps and good luck on your tank.

I have considered angelfish yes, do they come in pairs or more? What's the recommended amount for them?

How big do guarani grow?

Joshua.

Hi joshua and Welcome to the beginners section,

Sounds like you are getting off to a nice start on your plan with a large 40G/150L and a Fluval external (what model?)

Can you give us the dimensions of your tank? Angels need a minimum of about 17 inches of height as they grow to be quite tall fish!

Also, what is your media plan? Have you thought about which types of media you want to use in the Fluval?

How do you plan to "cycle" the tank? Have you read our Nitrogen Cycle article in the Beginners Resource Center?

~~waterdrop~~

I haven't read the nitrogen cycle article, will have a look! What is a cycle?

Filter is the fluval 205. Am using the basic filtration of foam, carbon and biomax.

Tank is 36l x 18d x 17h. So this might be too short for angels? :(

Joshua.

Edit: have had a read on the cycle and understand quite well!