Which fish should I choose???

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lebe

Reaction score
Hi all,
My son asked for fish for his birthday (he is 3yrs old) and loves aquariums. and I thought that's a great idea, until I realised just how confusing it all is.
I have done some research and we have decided on a SuperFish start 70 Aquarium kit. (due to space and weight of the tank etc.)
He isn't fussy about what fish, he just likes different colours and movement, and he also wants snails and shrimps, so maybe something that wont eat the shrimp?

We are thinking of guppies and tetras and some bottom feeders.
The staff at the aquarium have been really helpful, and suggested maybe a focal fish as well, but obviously we are limited to 60L tank

So the question is - What fish would you put together. I am a beginner so the easier the better.
Sand over gravel for the shrimp and bottom feeders?
Do i need live plants or can I get fake coral (mainly for the bright colours) for the fish/shrimps to hide in?

Thanks

First thing to do is check the water hardness in your area (you can find this on your water company's website). If you have soft water, go for fish that live in soft water and vice versa. People on here can help with some choices. You could try some easy growing live plants alongside some fake ones if you're unsure. Live plants will make life easier long term as they absorb some of the waste in the tank.

Welcome to the forum! I'll try my best to make everything as simple as possible.

If you haven't already, your first step is to read all about cycling here: https://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycle-your-tank-a-complete-guide-for-beginners.475055/