Need Instant Help With Malawi Cichlid!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

BethsMalawiCichlids

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm new to keeping Malawi Cichlids. Had the 60l tank set up for about a month and 4 beautiful fish in for a week. One of them is swimming on its side with what I can best describe as a 'scraped side' and looks like its poor fins been attacked. I have absolutely no idea what to do!!

Poorly one is the guy on the right

Need help ASAP!!

Thank you :)

I'm afraid I have bad news for you
sad.png

A 60l tank is far too small for Malawis. Most of them are pretty aggressive, so they need to be crowded, or overstocked, to spread the bullying.

You need a four foot/200l tank, as a minimum.

All you can do is separate the fish the best you can
confused.gif

what are the names of the fish and are they same size and sexes please?

I was advised by Pets At Home (their stockists are a shop slightly too far to travel by foot - with the fish in mind) that 4 for now would be ok and then when they're happily in after a couple of weeks bump it up to 8/9. I was going to go this week.

So far I've done as I've been told. Searched a lot (I know a bigger tank is better but after being advised it was ok I went along with the purchase)

I have checked the PH and its reading above 7.6 - again as I was told. I have stress coat and zyme, will either of these help?
I thought if there'd be any bullying it'd be on the slightly smaller one of the 4!

Do not fully trust any advice from lfs, do your homework first. 

I researched about Malawi tanks as my tap water is pretty much perfect for this and considered this but I have a 90l tank, thats too small also. Best with at least 200litres as mentioned above.

Good luck 
good.gif

I thought that too but was very surprised when 2 different staff on separate occasions gave me extensive knowledge of them. One of them being a Cichlid keeper himself.