need help

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

bparnham

Reaction score
Just bought the Fluval flex 57ltr and i want to have tropical fish but i am completely new to owning a fish tank
i understand what i need so far
  • In tank heater
  • 2 buckets
  • thermostat
  • water de-chlorine and conditioner
  • water test kit
  • In tank accessories(Gravel ETC)
  • More filters for spare to change when needed
This is what i think i need is there anything else i should have and once i have it all should i have it running for a week before adding fish
if anyone can help please do

You also need either a lot of live plants or a bottle of ammonia solution.

Fish excrete ammonia, which is poisonous to fish. You need something in the tank to remove this ammonia, and there are two ways of doing this. The first is to use live plants, and more than just the odd one or two. Plants use ammonia as fertiliser and if there are enough of them they will use all the ammonia made by the fish. With this method, the tank is planted, then you wait a week or two to make sure the plants are growing and not dying. Then add fish a few at a time, monitoring ammonia and nitrite levels between additions, and only adding more fish if the readings remain at zero for a week. If they don't remain at zero, water changes must be done to get the readings down to zero.
However, if you don't want to have to look after plants as well as fish, you need to grow some bacteria to 'eat' the ammonia. This takes several weeks. The method for doing this fishless cycle is here http://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/