Need action

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Spalders

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
My tank now has 12 Columbian tetras and some Cherry Barbs. Problem is that all the fish are staying near the substrate or mainly in the lower quarter of the tank (unless being fed of course.)

I would like something to liven up the middle to top area. Having hard water would small rainbows (spotted blue eye etc) be OK with my current fish? I'm sure the Cherries will be fine but I know the Columbians are quite frenetic when it comes to feeding. Would this be a little too much for the little Rainbows? If so, what would you recommend?

This is my first time keeping Columbians and it's only these fish that make me worry about tank mates. They're bonkers :rofl:

You say you have hard water? Can you give your exact parameters? Tetras and barbs are both softwater fish.

You say you have hard water? Can you give your exact parameters? Tetras and barbs are both softwater fish.
I had one Columbian tetra come with the tank so I got him some friends :)
Cherry Barbs are fine with hard water, Congo Tetra are fine in hard water too but I bought the Cherries instead.
My water is 395 PPM

Picture of the tank?
IMG_0202.JPG

It's almost where I want it to be.

I had one Columbian tetra come with the tank so I got him some friends :)
Cherry Barbs are fine with hard water, Congo Tetra are fine in hard water too but I bought the Cherries instead.
My water is 395 PPM

I don't know how much of a difference 40 ppm makes, but seriously fish says that the maximum hardness for cherry barbs is 357ppm. "Hardness: 36 – 357 ppm. Wild fish will probably do best towards the lower end of this range."
You should not put fish into water that is just barely within or outside of their range. It will always lead to problems.