Multiple fish casualties

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Characf

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello im relatively new to fish keeping and was doing well for the first month or two, but all of a sudden I've had 6 dead fish 4 guppies and 2 platies. 0ppm of ammonia, but my Nitrates are about 40ppm.

I'm doing a 60% water change as I haven't done it in two weeks and hopefully that sorts the issue, but I'm really not sure as my other fish aren't showing signs of gasping etc.. I noticed before said fish died that it was swimming on its side and then being picked on

Notes- The lid broke so I've got a bit of wood over the top atm and algae bloom? Would these factor

Notes- The lid broke so I've got a bit of wood over the top atm and algae bloom?
I have had tanks go solid green just about, with algae, with no apparent stress on the fish. Obviously if you are having a cyanobacteria bloom of that magnitude you could have some issues.

The wood over the aquarium is unlikely but possible suspect. Even if the wood is not treated and a species that is typically ok for aquarium use it can still be a hazard. All sawmills, except specialty mills, use a mixture of oil and water to lubricated the saws. Additionally, there are possible contamination from hydraulic fluids, petroleum products etc. from handling and in the yard. These contaminants are not in large amounts but you could have a piece that was showered with hydraulic fluid when a hose or seal broke. It would depend if the wood is untreated and fully exposed to the water, or if it was sealed in some fashion. I would not use commercially sawn lumber in a wetted environment with fish. Not saying it is the cause but it could be.

What kind of test kit are you using? What kind of water conditioner?

Was the tank cycled before adding fish?