Lion Fish

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

bae1994

Fact. Bears eat beets. Bears.Beets.Battlestar
Reaction score
would a 3-4 inch red dwarfv lion fish be ok with a 1-2 inch fuzzy dwarf lion fish

forgot to say its 5x2x2ft the tank that is

forgot to say its 5x2x2ft the tank that is
They might be OK together - Lionfish will eat smaller ones - IMO u would be better off with 2 of similar sizes

What else do you have in the tank?

Even Dwarf Lions get quite big & have huge mouths

i have a worm goby a sailfin tang a maroon clown and a pink cheeked goby

both about 4-5 inches

cool thanks

You can keep (Dendrochirus brachypterus) fuzzy dwarf lionfish and (Dendrochirus zebra) zebra lionfish together, They will each eventually become about 8".
I am no expert and am learning slowly myself, I am pretty sure if you are going to get 2 together it is recommended that you get one larger than the other, Also make sure they have plenty of places to hide and a cave each which they can hide in when necessary. If they show any signs of aggression then you should separate them immediately
The size of the tank would be fine.

My concern would be for your other fish, I think you might find that they become a meal before to long. :sick:

Although they can be kept together the D. zebra is more prone to be agressive towards the same genus, just keep an eye on them.

or have you may thought about the smaller Genus Pterois one of each perhaps :good:

well i was wrongly informed by lfs that the fuzzy would be fine in my nano so got him, then i saw the red one and wanted him in my 5 ft so i asked at the better lfs and was told they need to be in a big tank so wanted to put the fuzzy in my 5ft but thought id ask here

i just put him in and he looks so much happier and they dont even acnolidge each other i feel so much better

can you recomend some treats for them i have some brine shrimp and garlic ones and some cockels any other treats