Idk how to close threads but I'm all good now lol

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ellie Potts

Fishaholic
Reaction score
UPDATE (11/18/20): I now have 2 Siamese Algae Eaters which I got from a fish store that was a bit of a drive away, but worth it. I wanted the fish because they're from the riverbanks in Thailand and Myanmar (the theme of my tank). I promise I understand I need to deal with any algae issues with adjustments to air, light, or heat and not a fish :lol:. Thanks to all who helped out!

I really want to get a Siamese Algae Eater, but I don't have a local fish store so I have to rely on Petsmart/Petco. They both only list fish under "Algae Eater" which makes me nervous.
1605326006484.png
1605326057949.png

Neither of these fish are what I want... right? I'm new to this 'genre' of fish and am very confused about where to buy one. They're supposedly very common in fish stores, so I don't really want to spend $40 shipping on a $5 fish.

Last edited:
Just grab up a rubberlip pleco. Start there. They are cheap, and voracious algae eating catfish. Unless you have a 75 gallon tank or bigger, avoid a common pleco, as they get pretty large. Most rubberlips get about 4-6 inches. They should have a variety at both those locations to pick from.

Down the road you can look into.other species.

Just grab up a rubberlip pleco. Start there. They are cheap, and voracious algae eating catfish. Unless you have a 75 gallon tank or bigger, avoid a common pleco, as they get pretty large. Most rubberlips get about 4-6 inches. They should have a variety at both those locations to pick from.

Down the road you can look into.other species.
Well I've looked into bristlenose plecos but I'd really like to keep as many of the fish from Thailand as possible. I also like the size of the Siamese Algae eater for my 55 gallon.