I did everything wrong yesterday!

SaltyMist

Reaction score
Darn it, while I still feel Im a newbie, I've been involved in the aquarium hobby for years and years and years. And I made a big blunder yesterday.

I setup the 100 gallon tank thats been sitting in my garage for a couple years now, heated up the water with a heater to 78f, and had it circulating over night (had already put in substrate the day before as well as all the filters with new media).

So anyway, yesterday I went out and bought a package of bio spira to start the tank and one oscar fish, put the bio spira into the tank and let the bag with the oscar float around in the bag he came in for about 30 minutes or so, then started to acclimate him to the water in the tank slowly, he seemed fine.

After a while I released him into the tank, and he immediately went to the bottom corner of the tank and didnt move. I figured no big deal hes in a new tank, 20 minutes later I found him stuck to the intake of one of the canisters (not really stuck, since it's a very large grated intake, just kind of holding onto it I guess, or laying against it), so I turned off that filter and he swam down to the bottom of the tank again and stayed there, so I turned back on the filter. 20 minutes later he's kind of on his side and breathing rather hard, so at this point I become really stupid and net him out and put him in my goldfish tank and take out one of the goldfish from his tank and put him in the 100 gallon tank, feeling confident that the new 100 gallon just setup with bio spira (and bio spira hasnt let me down before) is just fine.

Before bed, all is well, the gold in the 100 is swimming around happily to be in such a large tank, and the oscar is swimming around with the other gold in the golds smaller tank.