How To Start Growing Aquarium Plants?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FroFro

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I decided I want to start some plants in my Aquarium. What would be the easiest to maintain/get started since I've never grown them before? Should I get the little ones I see in the Gel at the LFS, start from seeds? What do I need to make sure they can grow?

Have you kept a planted aquarium at all? I can't grasp from your post if you're completely new, or new to growing from seed.

All the advice I've been given from fish keepers is to buy young plants - easier than growing from scratch.

I'm new to this hobby as well, and I've bought plants which look a little ragged, and I've bought ones the same day that the LFS got them in, and the 'fresh' ones are doing best :)

Unfortunately some of mine were unlabelled when I bought them. I have 2 anubias nanas, a crypt of sorts, a hybrid of a type of sword, and some lilaeopsis. I also have some grassland thing at the front.

I DON'T use co2.

I have hard, high pH water (some of these are advertised as soft water etc) so I wouldn't worry about your water toooo much.

I also use a small amount of fertiliser each day which my green fingers family member picked out for me after looking at my water details online. Its called TNC complete, however you could argue that this isn't necessary for the plants I have :)

For the few weeks I've had them they're all a lush colour, and all sprouting new shoots and the grassland ones are starting to spread, so I'd personally say that these would be good to start with :)

Some experienced members will comment with better advice soon, but I'd thought I'd give my input. Sorry if it's a bit rubbish

FroFro said: