How many gallons

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

RandomWiktor

Rabid Betta Activist
Reaction score
I have two empty 5 gallon, filtered, heated tanks. I am thinking of getting two golden apple snails, one for each tank (there will be no fish in the tanks). Is 5 gallons adequate for this species at adulthood? I will probably clean 2-3X's a week in addition to the filtration since they produce so much waste. Also, is there a reccomended water temperature for the species? The LFS didn't have anything to say other than that it "should be fine in a tropical community tank." Somewhere in the 70's then? Any information would be great as I want to make sure I've covered all my bases before I get the snails.

Um... not trying to be an annoying double-poster but

::bump::

Anyone?

Hi, I am not an expert which is why I didn't answer before. I have had a Golden Apple Snail since last May. It started off in a coldwater hexagonal tank with 5 Neon Tetras and a Hillstream Loach. In August I upgraded to a 6 UK gallon tropical tank. I moved them all in to the new tank (without cycling properly as I was told the tank was fine after a few days!). The Apple Snail is happy and thriving. In the tank now are 14 Mollies, 5 Guppies and the Apple Snail. All the Mollies are fry at various stages of growth. Hope this helps. Sometimes the Mollies bother the snail but I think they are just looking for food. When that happens the snail just goes into it's shell. If they were doing it all the time I would move the snail to a tank on it's own.

Thanks for the advice ;) Sounds like you have a very pampered, loved snail ^^

However, I may have neglected to state clearly in my origional post (bad me) that each snail would be the only inhabitant of the tank (no other fish, no other anything). Shall I assume, then, that this amount of gallonage would be sufficient, seeing as they can be kept with other fish in the same amount of water?