How long does it take for a female betta to reabsorb eggs?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

haileyykristian

Reaction score
My female delta is gravid. I have seen her breeding bars and her ovipositor is more prominent. I have been fasting her five days a week for two weeks and she has yet to drop or absorb her eggs. Her tank is well established and when I checked the water parameters ammonia and nitrites were 0 and nitrates were 5ppm. I upped my water changes to twice a week: once 10% and once 30%. I lost one female about a year ago to egg binding and I tried everything to help her. I don't want to freak out but I don't want to lose her too. At what point should I start doing regular epsom salt baths or treating her tank? I do have a mature male that I could try to breed her with but I do not want baby bettas and I have no experience with breeding.

I am so confused. You said you don't want to raise Betta fry and yet you want to breed with a male? Are you sure she isn't constipated or bloated? What you are describing is possible, but not normal for female Bettas - to hold/drop eggs without the presence of a male.

Last edited: