How Can You Tell If Your Current Is Too Strong?

Luixfern

Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to the hobby and I recently acquired a 45g tank. It came bundled with a Aqueon 55g filter. My question is, can a filter meant for a bigger tank than the one I'm using cause an overly strong current? My fish seem to all hang out on one side of the tank (opposite side of the filter) and when they swim they dart around, rarely do I see them just floating in place as they do at pet shops. The filter doesn't have any sort of valve to reduce the current. Should I be looking into a new filter with some sort of control over the current or do my fish just need to adapt. I have a couple barbs and tetras if that helps. Thanks.

if your fish get blasted across the tank then i'd say it's too strong lol seriously though a lot of fish like water movement plus it increases oxygen but too strong and they're permanently fighting it.

I would say that filter is most likely fine for that size of tank (its doesn't have a massive flow rate on it). It depends on what fish you have though. Some fish love a really strong water current while others do not like any current at all. You can most likely attach a spray bar to the outflow of the filter which will not reduce the flow rate too much but will reduce the amount of water pressure.

Good question!
I agree with Barney, spray bar gives you greater options for reducing and directing the pressure, without necessarily reducing your filter turnover rate.

One problem with the question is that evolution has produced as many varied types of fish as there are wildly different water flows in nature. Think of times you've stood at waterfalls/rapids or sat near a very still creek backwater or pond. Also makes me think of some of the new videos I've seen on UTube where people have taken underwater movies of the actual same species we put in our aquariums but in their natural habitat - different sorts of flows there for different fish.