Hi, newbie here to the forum and looking for advice

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Aqua Gal

Reaction score
Bought a Fluval Flex 57 litre tank at the weekend. Set it up, fishless cycling, got gravel and two pieces of decorative wood, all cleaned thoroughly and crystal clear water. Been okay until this morning and the water is cloudy !!! Is this just the bacterial bloom? Ammonia test done and it is currently at 1.0 ppm (light green). Do I just wait this out? Any advice would be greatly appreciated

The white cloudiness is most likely a bacterial bloom, but not the bacteria we want to grow. The bloom bacteria feed on organic matter, they multiply very quickly and live free floating in the water. They'll die and the water will clear once they've eaten all their food, but as every tank is different it is impossible to say how long it will take. Water changes don't help because they multiply so quickly.

How are you doing the cycle? Are you adding ammonia, fish food or something else? I ask because it is usual to use 3ppm ammonia to cycle with as this grows more than enough bacteria needed by a tank of fish.

Thanks for the response. I haven't actually added anything into the tank, just water, the gravel and the wood decorations. Only had it up and running since Saturday with the pump running etc. No fish or anything in it as doing a fish less cycle. I have got some fish flakes, should I add some to boost it along?

A fishless cycle is where you add ammonia to grow the filter bacteria before fish are added to the tank. It can be done using fish food but it is much more controlable using a bottle of ammonia solution and following this method https://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/

Tetra Safe Start added to the tank will help speed up the cycle.

But do you intend getting live plants? if you do, there is another way to cycle the tank.