Hi All

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

phoenix2081

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
First time I have ventured into this area of the forum. So as you will probably guess I am totally new to marine setups. 

I would love a 6ft tank but unfortunately I haven't won euro millions yet. 

I have several books on my kindle that I am reading and keep re-reading and due to budget I am looking at starting a nano tank once I have gathered enough information. My wife likes clown fish and anenomes surprise. But from reading Anenomes grow too large for nano tanks and that is the same for torch coral. 

This is what I am thinking so far from research: 

Looking at this nano 30l: http://www.seapets.co.uk/products/aquarium-supplies/aquariums/glass-aquariums/microhabitat-30-nano-reef-aquarium.html?ref=googlebase&gclid=CMuep8LRkLYCFZDKtAod3D0ApA

Stock I was looking at a type of goby (I do like the look of the dracula goby) and a pistol shrimp pair. 

Clean up crew: Looking at cleaner shrimps and a hermit crab (not sure of quantities so advice needed please) 

Would also like a type of small urchin.

For corals I was looking at: Pulsing xenia, feather dusters, a type of polyp (saw a nice yellow one, http://plaza.ufl.edu/bettie/coralreef.html), maybe a branching coral  and maybe mushroom coral. 

Obviously coral is not my strong point right now and more reading needs to be done. But any advice would be appreciated in preperation for my planning. 

Would I be able to get a star fish also? 

I am looking at RO units ready as I do plan on expanding to larger tanks. Are there any preferances or anything I should look for or look out for?

Sorry for bombarding you with questions.

Thanking you in advance

Michael