Help With Tropical Aquarium

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

pbase5583

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to fish forums and want to first start off by saying thank you to all who become good help for me. First problem, my asian needle nose gar has a red oval looking birds eye view at him, i dont know what it is. I dont know how to post pictures but i will if i need to. Second off whats a permanent solution for reducing ammonia in a fish tank. My tank is a 3.0 ppm of ammonia with bio filter fluval, 65 gallon tank with 1 angel fish(1 inch) 1 asian needle nose gar(8 inch) 1 tiretrack eel (8 inch) 4 rainbow fish (1-3 inch) 1 black ghost knife fish (5 inch) 1 tilapia ( 1 inch) and 1 blue crayfish(3 inch)

This is the story, I was cycling the tank and then i took my water sample to a different store that does strips which I did not know of at the time. They said it was cycled and then i bought some more fish. take a water sample to the original store and they tell me its bad. They said let the tank ride through this ammonia, 3 weeks later it never did. So I decided to start with water changes at 30-40 percent every week. its still not working and I am putting in prime water conditioner. i already got rid of 5 other fish just to reduce the load, but i feed every three days.

It could be ammonia burn - at 3.0 I can't imagine he is very happy, to be frank it's amazing that any fish survive like that. It is such a shame that fish shops in general are so adept at giving awful advice, you have a lot of big expensive fish there which they should never have sold to a newbie with a cycling tank :no:

So... How to keep the fishies alive! Do a HUGE (75%+) water change, right now.

OK, done that? We can move on... The only permanent solution to ammonia is to have an established (i.e. cycled) filter. It takes around 6 weeks and apart from getting established media there are no shortcuts, it's a fixed period.