Help Re-Scaping My Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Ri-Za

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all,

So after another topic on here, I seem to have finally and hopefully sorted out my stocking and a way forward but I am still a newbie with plants and could do with some advice and help with my current plants and help with how to scape it as I don't really like the look of it at the moment and my fish seem to agree as well it seems.

My current tank as it stands at the moment

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

It is a fluval roma 125 with a u3 filter and 2 x 24" 20 watt GLO fluorescent lighting. Would you say that this lighting is sufficient enough to grow basic plants or something similar? Currently, I have anubias, java fern (which doesn't seem to be doing too well) and twisted vallis which is doing ok. I currently do weekly water changes and use pro flora fertiliser which was suggested at my lfs and don't use a co2 system and ideally I would like not too. My plants don't seem to be doing that great and they have been in there a few months now, at least 4 and don't seem to have grown, it at all. I was thinking it was time to maybe change things around a bit and do a bit of re-scaping to aid my growth problems and to allow my fish to enjoy their tank a bit more as they don't seem very active (currently 6 glowlight tetras and 6 cardinal tetras) I was hoping to get some cherry shrimp or an alternative so would ideally like some sort of moss carpet for them which I do have some rocks for, to grow some moss on.

Would a black background help at all enhance the tank at all? I am considering getting rid of the big ornament as the fish don't seem too interested in it and it does take up quite a lot of their swimming room.

Any suggestions on what I could/should do to help would be much appreciated :)

are the anubias and java fern planted under the substrate? if so attach them to something

have a read of this