Help identifying a white spot please - platy

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Care_bear

Reaction score
Hello

It is my first time posting and I am wondering if someone can help us please?

One of my daughters platys has a spot on it's tail. It's a dull white colour and doesn't seem to be the same as pictures I've seen of white spot. It seems to be on one side of her tail, it either it slightly raised or clearer to see on that side - it's hard to tell.
It has been there for a few weeks and hasn't appeared to spread. Otherwise she seems normal.
She is pregnant, and last had fry 3 and half weeks ago.

We thought the spot was a bit of dirt/poo after we cleaned the tank and kicked up mess from under the gravel. I expected it to come off on it's own. I haven't been able to get near to the fish to try to gently wipe it off.

Hopefully I've attached some pictures. I'm sorry they're not very clear.

Thank you

--------
24L tank with filter
25 degrees C
4 adult platies (3 female 1 male)
8 platy fry in a hatchery
Fed fish flakes and sometimes peas
Tetra Ammonia and Tetra 6 in one test strips show tank is ok apart from KH which is high (but not very high or very very high).

Attachments

• Screenshot 2019-10-05 at 18.35.25 copy.jpg
    Screenshot 2019-10-05 at 18.35.25 copy.jpg
    165.5 KB · Views: 189
  • Screenshot 2019-10-05 at 18.35.47 copy.jpg
    Screenshot 2019-10-05 at 18.35.47 copy.jpg
    104.2 KB · Views: 197
Should I start treating the whole tank for ick just in case please?

No, if it has been there consistently and hasn't spread in weeks it is unlikely to be whitespot.
Could you clarify the readings on your test strips and ammonia tests in numbers please?
Fresh water is always helpful so do a large water change (50-75%).
Hopefully someone will be able to identify the spot soon.
All the best.