Hello!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lindat

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm not sure if I'm posting in the correct area but I'd just like to say thanks for letting me join your forum, and to introduce myself. I live in Middlesbrough in the north east of England. I'm new to tropical fishkeeping (about 5 months). I have a 180 litre tank with about 30 fish. Mostly barbs, (cherry, golden, albino, tiger, green), harlequin and neon tetra, galaxy rasbourus, a striped loach, Cory catfish and 3 dwarf gourami. And I am hooked on the hobby. Excuse the pun. Looking forward to getting to know you all and increasing my fishkeeping knowledge. I do have a question because I think I have found eggs in the tank but I'm going to have a look on the site to see where I should post. Thanks!;)

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Just post the pictures here. If the pictures are too big for the website, set the camera's resolution to its lowest setting and take some more. The lower resolution will make the images smaller and they should fit on this website. Check the pictures on your pc and find a couple that are clear and show the problem, and post them here. Make sure you turn the camera's resolution back up after you have taken the pics otherwise all your pictures will be small.

Welcome to the forum! :hi:
I was just wondering, aren't some of those barbs too aggressive to keep with gourami? I always heard they would nip the gourami's feelers. Someone correct me if I'm wrong here, but I'm not sure the stocking is very compatible.

Hi Lindat, I'm only about 10 miles from Boro :hi:

Re the eggs - where are they in the tank? Scattered loosely or stuck to something?

I agree with FishFanatic77 about the barbs and gouramis, specifically tiger barbs. These fish are notorious fin nippers. They need to be in a group of at least 12, and not kept with sedate fish like gouramis.