Goldfish Lifespan

10 Tanks

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Hello TFF and Goldfish Keepers. I want to let you know that you're not a failure if your Goldfish don't live for 30 plus years. I've been keeping them for several years in large tanks and changing half the water weekly and feeding a little variety daily. The best I can do is seven years. Why, you ask? Well, most Goldfish you get at the store have been changed through the breeding process and bred by the thousands, so they're naturally going to have a much shorter lifespan. Then, there are the fancy ones with the round bodies and compact innards that fail. The fish with the slimmer bodies, tend to live the longest. Anyway, it has been my experience that most Goldfish you get at the store will make it to three or four and possibly a bit longer if they get good care. They're no different than people. Some are very hardy individuals that live a long time. Sadly, the majority don't.

10 Tanks

I remember when seeing goldfish in those glass bowls was pretty common. I think a lot of people have learned how terrible those bowls are since then. No fish should be kept in them. (Although I still see them being sold sometimes). I also remember seeing goldfish given away as prizes at carnivals. And it's not like people had a cycled tank ready for it when they got home. Back then, most people didn't even know what cycling was.
Everyone thought that they only grew to the size of whatever container they were kept in. Those poor fish didn't last too long.

I guess the pond is best for hardier types. My 2 are around 17 years old now. I visited a customer last week who said she won hers at a fairground over 20 years and it was pretty big in quite a small tank. But i guess he was used to it, although not fair to him at all. Any fancies I've had have only lived a couple of years.... so your very right.