FISHLESS CYCLING

panther1505

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Yesterday I was finally able to start fishless cycling my aquarium. I added 4 teaspoons of ammonia to the water before the ammonia level reached ~5. The nitrite level was 0
So today I added the same amount of ammonia to the water, just like the instructions for fishless cycling said to do.
It seems to me that the ammonia level has risen and is getting closer to the highest level on the test card which is 8.0ppm.
The nitrite level is still 0ppm.
I have never done this before, so I am a little on the nervous side about goofing things up.
Should I keep adding 4 teaspoons of ammonia to the water every day until I get my nitrite spike? :(
Then I will do my 90% water change. Then add fish.

This may be a stupid question. but did you give it a source bacteria? Otherwise adding the ammonia alone isn't really going to get things started.

The instructions that I read for fishless cycling didn't say anything about adding a source bacteria.
It said to add ammonia to the water, paying attention to the amount being added. When the ammonia level reaches approximately 5ppm, record the amount of ammonia that it took to reach the 5ppm.
Add this amount of ammonia to your tanks water every day until you get a nitrite spike.
Then cut the amount of ammonia being added in half until the ammonia and nitrite levels are 0ppm.
Once the ammonia and nitrite levels have spiked and then returned back to 0ppm,
I make a 50-70% water change.
I test the nitrate level. Nitrate level should be below 40.

Your tank will cycle without the seed bacteria, it just takes longer. If you can add the seed bacteria from an established aquariums filter material, gravel , plants and ornaments, it will speed up the process quite a bit. HTH :)

don't mean to threadjack but its a relavent question....is one java fern enough seed for a 5 gallon? its a pretty big one with 6 leaves the longest which is 5 or 6 inches.