Fish Delema

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Camillemj

Reaction score
Moved from Emergency page: Severe Fin rot, HELP almost dying, tail fin gone, treating melafix 3 days

I need new fish in my tank, the ones I have don't work. So what can I get other then Betta's. I am a college student and love my fish tank. No afence to anyone but I don't like betta's and would like something else.

Sugestions please.

ps..I can't return the fish I have(just called and checked) So what do I do with them. See siggy.

Guppies, Platys and Swordfish are pretty hardy but your pretty limited to what you can put in a 3 1/2 gal tank.

Ok you have to go around to lps in order to find oone that will just take your fish (and except the monatary losses). Then, I don't know your selection but some nice looking species that might be ok in a 3.5 gal and a hardy are...
-tertras (ie black skirt, popsicle etc.), stay away from neons and don't add more than 3
-pea puffers are fun if your willing to add some salt to the water (a pair would work)
-rasboras (same story as tetras, no more than 3)

Advertise in the newspaper to get rid of them. You can't really keep them. 3 1/2 gallons.... Hmm... thats a toughie. You miight be able to squeeze 3 cories in. Definately if you can get pygmies. Ghost shrimp? Not fish but...
Ooh, oh! An ADF!!!

Here's the brutal truth: there isn't much you can do with a 3-1/2 gallon tank - and I cringe to even call that a "tank" - other than a betta. You have to temper your expectations. Those tiny tanks are manufactured because they *sell*, not because they are good places for fish to live. You certainly can't keep free-swimming fish like barbs or danios in it. Besides the space issue, those are also tropical fish, and won't do well in an unheated tank (which I assume it isn't).