Emersed?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

waterdrop

Enthusiastic "Re-Beginner"
Reaction score
I'm interested in hearing some discussion of what people happen to know about the whole topic of how some plants grow better "emersed" as opposed to "submerged."

Here are some random things I've heard regarding this but I'm not experienced enough to put them in context:
1) Most aquarium plants grow emersed in their natural habitat, not submerged. (True?False? ??)
2) (related) True submerged-only plants are rare in freshwater natural habitats.

What about partial emersion vs. time emersion? I've seen some slide shows of plant collection trips where collectors where I've heard comments that some of our aquarium plants live completely out of water some of the time, whereas at other times the are partially submerged and at other times fully submerged.

I've heard that plant leaves can get much more CO2 when out in the air, but what about partial emersion, do plants that stick out above the water surface get an extra kick of CO2 from this? Is this part of what our extra sourcing of available CO2 is all about? Is a significant part of the CO2 effort all about trying to help emersion plants be ok as submersion plants, or is it more a continuum of just better provision of the carbon nutrient and there's a complete mix of what the plants might be used to from an evolutionary standpoint?

Please, I know this topic may look sort of stupid or boring but I'd enjoy hearing your thoughts!

1) Most aquarium plants grow emersed in their natural habitat, not submerged. (True?False? ??)
like truck says, but it depends on what you call aquarium plants, most of the plants we use are marsh plants whereas some are 100% aquatic like vallisneria sp
2) (related) True submerged-only plants are rare in freshwater natural habitats.