Eco-complete Plant Substrate

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Barracuda518

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Im sure this has been asked several times about Eco-Complete, but I dont know much about it and I need to get some ASAP. Can I put sand on top of if? I dont want to use gravel unless I have to because the fish in the tank will be 90% Corydoras.

Im going for an easy planted tank without CO2 this time because it is my first attempt at a planted tank. How thick do I need to apply the Eco-Complete and then the sand on top (if I can put sand on top)?

If Eco-Complete is not the best substrate, then does anyone have some suggestions of which kind to use?

Thanks for the help in advance :good:

From those plants, none are actually going to be in the substrate as they are all plants to tie to wood/rock. As Musho said, don't bother with the Eco. I would however consider a pack of quality root tabs if you decide to plant something in the substrate later on :)

On a side note, Eco can be toped by sand but I think it tends to mix after a while. Eco is designed to be a lone substrate and it looks fine when its it :)

The plan is to get plants that root later on. I dont want to have to change the substrate at that point, which is why I wanted to go ahead and put the Eco Substrate in the tank.

The plan is to get plants that root later on. I dont want to have to change the substrate at that point, which is why I wanted to go ahead and put the Eco Substrate in the tank.
I started with sand then changed to eco complete and I will never use sand again. Imho sand just makes a mess.

i have had success with many rooting plants in my tank in regular inert sand and flourish root tabs. Only thing that wont grow is amazon sword, BUT its not dying either. I have some info and pics posted up here, see for yourself.