Discus Pair Breeding

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

kashifmasud

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
First of all I have 4 Discus (2 Female & 2 Male) along with 1 Bolivian Ram, 5 Tetras & a Pleco. I am lucky enough that 2 discus have formed a pair and laid eggs. It's super exciting for me as having Discus pairing up and breeding would be like golden prize for me. But since I am new to the process I am not sure what steps should I take for successful breeding.
First & most I am concerned about other fishes including other Discus eating fry, So I should I separate them ? I don't have an extra tank at least not big enough for now and if I get one it will take sometime to setup. Secondly after eggs hatched and fry swimming freely, will I have to remove parents too? Lastly do I have to adjust flow of my filter and use some nylon in front of the filter intake to protect fry?

All based on the assumptions that eggs hatch successfully off course and what are the chances they will do ?

Thanks

The other fish, especially the plec, will certainly eat any eggs or fry they can get near.

You do, really, need to set up a breeding tank and, yes, you do need to cover the filter intakes, unless you use a sponge filter in the breeding tank (which is the best option).

Discus should not be separated from the fry; they actually feed their fry on a special slime they secrete from their skins.

Personally, I would not worry too much about this spawn; once fish have paired up and spawned once, it's pretty much a certainty that they'll spawn again, so you have plenty of time to get things set up properly, even if this lot of eggs doesn't make it.

It's impossible to guess whether the eggs will hatch; there are too many variables that we can't/don't know (the hardness and pH of your water, temperature,age and fertility of the parents etc, etc).