Digital Water Tester Kit

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

delta200

Reaction score
i am a real newbie to this fish thing , i have had 2 fish die due to dangerously high nitrite ( i think , might be nitate )

i was told to add CYCLE and hope for the best !

is there any digital test kits that give a Much clearer display ? :unsure:

If they exist they will cost a fortune and be just as difficult to calibrate.

You can get cheap pH meters via ebay 'from Hong Kong', but again, it's not just a simple case of just sticking them in the water and getting a result - the cheaper they are the harder they are to use i.e. calibrate.

The test kits for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are crap, granted. They are very difficult to get an accurate measurement from.

But don't look at it as trying to get a very accurate measurement from them, be more subjective: Is there a presence of the chemical you are testing for and if so has it dropped or risen since the last time you tested for it? In other words use it for relative measurements, not absolute meaurements....

If in ANY doubt, i.e. 'crikey those ammonia / nitrite readings look high!!!' The feedback / advice you'll get will be the same anyway: Do regular large water changes until the levels drop.

Those drop test kits you get from the shops DO have their uses!

Andy

I agree, don't worry about getting precise, labratory results for testing. Your off the shelf test kit should be sufficient.

One thing to keep in mind is to acclimate the fish slowly to your tank and not to overstock or quickly stock a brand new tank. This brings up ammonia & nitrite levels too quickly, which could be harmful to the fish.

What fish did you add?

How big is your tank?