Detritus Worms? & Dead Shrimp

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

markanthany

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
9pxdw8.jpg

Hey everyone,
So I noticed today that I have what I think are some detritus worms.  Edit: and I believe copepods now (insanely tiny white dots that scoot around).  Although what I've read online about them says they're harmless, I've had two shrimp mysteriously die during the past three days.  I'm new to keeping shrimp (aside from ghost shrimp) and this is in a cycled 5 gallon shrimp-only nano.  I've got cherries, and some red and blue crystal shrimp (10 total) as well as some babies and one ottocat.  I have a one and a half inch substrate of pool filter sand, a small sponge filter, a heater, and java moss and marimo moss balls.

My specs:
75 F
Hard water (I think our tap is just naturally very hard and this is the reading we get on all of our tanks [we have six] and I don't believe it's ever been a problem before, but if it can be harmful to shrimp, any tips on softening the water?)
6.8 ph
40 (kh) ppm alkalinity (same goes here, should I try to change this?)
0-0.5 nitrite (? test strip wasn't clear.)
0 ammonia
0 nitrate.

After noticing the two dead shrimp, I did a 60% water change (I didn't know that large water changes could be harmful to shrimp at the time. 
unsure.png
) and used a turkey baster to get out bits of waste.  I've had them for about a month (tank cycled with just plants for a month before adding shrimp) with no problems until now, and I thought I was feeding them sparingly enough (ground tetra/krill flakes and sinking frog pellets) but I guess I wasn't, and that's my guess for the worms.